Ann Harrison

Ann E. Harrison

Senior Global Fellow, The Lauder Institute
Bank of America Dean, Haas School of Business,
University of California, Berkeley

Ann E. Harrison is a Senior Global Fellow at the Lauder Institute. Since January 2019, she has served as the 15th dean of the Haas School of Business at the University of California-Berkeley. A renowned economist, she has dedicated her career to creating inclusive and sustainable policies in development economics, international trade, and global labor markets.

Harrison came to Haas from The Wharton School, where she was the William H. Wurster Professor of Multinational Management and a professor of business economics and public policy. Before joining Wharton in 2012, she was the Director of Development Policy at the World Bank, where she co-managed a team of 300 researchers and staff. In this role, Harrison reformed the World Bank’s process for allocating research funds and oversaw the institution’s flagship publications. She convinced the World Bank’s president to release all historical records on project loans, a milestone in increasing its transparency.

Harrison is one of the most highly-cited scholars globally on foreign investment and multinational firms. She is the author of dozens of journal articles and the editor of three books, including Globalization and Poverty,  The Factory-Free Economy: Outsourcing, Servitization, and the Future of Industry. In 2017, Harrison and her co-authors were awarded the prestigious Sun Yefang Prize by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. The prize, given every two years, is considered one of China’s most prestigious honors in economics.

Harrison earned her bachelor’s degree from UC Berkeley with a double major in economics and history, and her PhD in economics from Princeton University. She also holds a DEUG (diplôme d’études universitaires générales) from the University of Paris. Born in France, she is a dual citizen of the U.S. and France.